15 Jul California is Open! What Does This Mean for You?
Thanks to California’s high vaccination rate and low prevalence of COVID-19, the state reopened on June 15. Currently, approximately 53 percent of the population is fully vaccinated and 11 percent have received at least one shot in a two-dose vaccine series.
The new public health order suspends all prior health orders and contains limited restrictions relating to masking and mega-events, as well as settings serving children and youth pending future guidance issued by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
Restrictions that ended on June 15 include physical distancing, capacity limits on businesses and the County tier system. While daily life may feel much like before COVID-19, safely reopening requires continued vaccinations and health protections to keep people safe.
Restaurants, shopping malls, movie theaters, and most everyday places will be open as normal with no capacity limits or social distancing required. The state recommends protecting yourself and others by keeping these simple rules in mind.
• Wear a mask if you’re unvaccinated, especially in crowded, indoor environments
• Follow safety rules for mega-events
• Get tested if you’re sick
• Wear a mask while on public transit, even if you’re vaccinated
• Honor mask and distancing rules in place at a private business
• Get tested if required by your workplace
• Wear a mask when you travel
• Expect others to be ready to shake hands or hug
• Lose your proof of vaccination
On June 17, California’s Division of Occupational Safety and Health (Cal/OSHA) also adopted new guidelines for workplace safety that align with statewide reopening policies. The new rules state that employees who are fully vaccinated for COVID-19 do not have to wear masks at the workplace. In addition, workplace physical distancing and plastic partitions separating cashiers and customers are no longer required.
However, workers who are not fully vaccinated against COVID-19 still need to wear masks at work and in public places. Employers are required to provide masks or respirators to unvaccinated employees who request them.
Cal/OSHA Employees considers employees fully vaccinated when the employer has documented that the person received, at least 14 days prior, either the second dose in a two-dose COVID-19 vaccine series or a single-dose COVID-19 vaccine.